and then there was this, take 784

784, because tonight I feel like being sequential.

Here’s how this happened:

I’m on Facebook. My friend posts a video from YouTube of this artist Kimbra. I know her from a short part she did in another song, by another artist. I enjoyed her voice. So I’m like, sure, I’ll watch this.

First off, the song caught me off guard. “Settle Down” is the title. The lyrics are a bit disturbing, to say the least. I’m half watching, half doing something else – multitasking, it’s a way of life – and I look back and I’m like, ‘wait! is that a twelve year old?!’

So I re-watch it. Yes. That is a twelve year old. Or… some age reminiscent of a prepubescent girl.

Why does this matter?

Well, refer back to ‘things you find on the internet, take 783‘ – domestification, servitude, woman make me my dinner, barefoot in the kitchen, etc. The stereotype of the 50s/60s women, propagated by advertising (especially that great food, household item stuff that I think is a great example of historic food media!).

Right, back to why this matters:

Sexualization of prepubescent girls.

Domestification of prepubescent girls; also references women as domestic servants.

Stalking.

Losing a man? Let’s clean and COOK. Make a special meal to “keep him by my side.”

Him, being what looks like an adult male. Complete with blush-highlighted cheekbones.

It’s like an episode of Mad Men to a catchy, poppy contemporary tune. Hello, 1960s meets 2010s.

Is this supposed to be political – a commentary on the current situation?

Well, she’s British (I believe) – so does that make a difference?

Towards the end, the creepy porcelain dolls (referencing the ‘delicate’ nature of women and domesticness?) start burning up (thereby referencing the destruction of this)? Is the destruction purposeful or accidental? Is she for or against this?

Is the title ‘Settle Down’ referencing the actual idea of settling down – getting married, having children, house, dinner, blah blah blah. Or perhaps the title is critiquing the idea of settling down, in that one should ‘settle down’ and don’t worry about it.

Or perhaps I am merely reading way too into a music video because it simply pissed me off.

I don’t know the answer to any of these questions, because honestly, all I know about this artist is that her name is Kimbra, she was featured in a song by Gotye, and she might be British.

I just needed to point out this offensive ridiculousness, and how sometimes, life works in tandem and you don’t even realize it until forty minutes later.