The Royal Potato

I mean, sure. Potatoes are ugly. But they are very, very tasty. Says the Irish decedent…

So out of curiosity, I googled ‘Frederick the Great potato.’
(Because I’m sure that’s how he hoped to be remembered in history…)

I found this painting, via Wikipedia. (I know, the greatest of resources.)

Frederick the Great of Prussia examines the potato harvest

Warthmüller, Robert
1886
Oil on canvas

And then this article: Why they Put Potatoes on Frederick the Great’s Grave. First off, I’m a little offended that I either didn’t know or just didn’t remember the history of Prussia (Germany!). And world history used to be one of my favorite subjects in high school… Alas. That’s a moot point. Also, this is assuming this guy’s recount is legit – this will require further research. Either way, finally getting to the end of this article and I feel totally cheated. Basically, all that matters about Freddie and the potato here, is:

Among his many accomplishments Frederick the Great also happened to introduce potatoes to Germany. He thought they were a great idea, and made a big production out of eating potatoes and smacking his lips enthusiastically at state dinners. Sometimes, when not fighting Austrians, he would visit towns and pass out potatoes. His endorsement worked, and potatoes became a staple crop in the nation.

So that’s why people put potatoes on top of his grave.

And they all lived happily ever after with pommes frites.

The end.