information overload

The internet is for… INFORMATION OVERLOAD.

We have too many options, and too many things to process. You try to stay well informed and you just feel overwhelmed. Like you will never finish your queue of reading, viewing, watching, listening, writing.

I haven’t posted on this blog in about a month, and yet I still continue to acquire links with resources, images, inspiration, and who knows what else. Sometimes I just save things to go back to later…

I’ve even take screenshots of my links to see how many I have, to comment on the sheer volume.

 

See here, on June 4, 2012, there were 357 items:

 

By August 2, 2012, the folder grew to include 406 items:

 

Now, as of today, I’ve gotten to the point that I have 515 items to go through:

 

And that’s just in my MFA specific folder. That doesn’t include anything I accidentally put in my ‘queue’ folder or my ‘read’ folder, my ‘apply’ folder filled with exhibitions and grants and other things, or even my ‘!!’ folder – filled with things that are time sensitive and should be looked at immediately. Perhaps this is not the best organization process. But… it’s mine.