the anthropology phd in years

So this is an interesting article that made me go, WHA-HUH?!

How fast to an Anthropology Ph.D.?

So, as I have theorized it over the years, I thought it would be about 5-7 years to get my PhD.

  • 3 years at the university taking classes, preparing to sit for exams to the ‘masters’ part of your degree.
  • 1-2 years in the field doing research
  • 1-2 years back wherever (at the university?) writing your dissertation

But this guy say nine years. NINE YEARS!

Whoa.

I guess I’ve got it all wrong…

My dream program was NYU, with the Certificate in Culture and Media. Because the program and classes sound awesome. And Faye Ginsburg. However, I honestly have no desire to move to NYC anymore. Even though I’ve dreamed of attending NYU since I was in high school (but that was when I wanted my BFA in photography and MFA in film).

My second choice was the program at USC, because again, classes and program sound awesome, and it’s a pretty prestigious film school, too. However, I also have no desire to move to L.A., despite the fact that California has nicer weather (i.e. not snow!).

But with my MFA, is there any need to go to a specific visual anthropology program? Or do I look for a more media centric program? I’ve found programs at some point that focus on tourism, but those were out in the midwest, also an undesirable location.

Oh, the question of what to do with my life. Stop with one (technically two, well not technically, definitely two, certificate and MFA) advanced degree, or actually realize my life’s goal? Decisions, decisions. That I am so awful at making…