platform rage

In other news, I kind of hate blogger.

For text-based posts, I think the interface/setup/whatever works fine.

But by golly, is it a pain to get my images formatted the way I want them to look on the page.

I’m bored with the blogger themes. I don’t really like any of them. And I don’t have the time to bother attempting to custom code. I used to try on Tumblr, but I gave up years ago.

WordPress is… meh. I hate how I always go to a site and KNOW that it is wordpress. If I can’t find a better solution, that’s what I’ll end up with though.

There are things I adore about Tumblr, but I don’t feel it is right for this blog. Not the interface, and not the (social) platform. I have seen a lot of artists with Tumblr blogs, but… I don’t know. Not what I want.

I was all about to start in on Posterous. Until I discovered they were just purchased by Twitter. And while they say they are sticking around. For now. That is for now.

I did a search for ‘best blogging platforms’ – lo and behold Google revealed blogger. Duh. But I found a few others.

Squarespace, which is where in the cactus garden is hosted, is cool. I like it a lot. I know the interface well. I like the setup. It works. But it also costs several dollars to a lot of dollars a month / a year. And I’m cheap.

MoveableType looks like the other option. I’m going to look into that.

But it all else fails, wordpress, here I come.