the walters art museum

This weekend I finally got around to checking out The Walters Art Museum.

I went with purpose – to view Exploring Art of the Ancient Americas: The John Bourne Collection Gift, for my Mesoamerica Art and Architecture class. It was a decent exhibition, though I was disappointed by the lack of Olmec artifacts in the collection. I did get to see some cool maize-god-looking-stuff, though it was harder to recognize without the help of my notes from class.

However, since I’d never been, we wandered around the whole museum.

We walked into one room, the Dutch something or other, and I was like, ‘OMG FOOD ART!’

So, this week, I’m going to try and go with the theme of art history, and look at some of the Dutch painters from a date way back when that I can’t remember off the top of my head. And some other references I got last semester to look at.

Here’s a preview. It’s a little blurry. I was pretty excited. I haven’t seen paintings like these since I was at The Wallace Collection in London.

Rabbit and wild boar stew, in process.