order up, burger face

Burger Face, a screenshot elicitation!

And what, you might ask, is a screenshot elicitation?

Well, it is a photo elicitation. Just with screenshots.

So then, you might ask, what is a photo elicitation?

In short, it is simply a way in which one can conduct an analysis of photographs.

In long, that’s another post for another day.

Enter, Burger Face! It’s a grubby fast food joint. 

Burger Face is a grubby fast food joint. From what I recall from other media (films, television), this appears to be accurate, mostly, to what the behind the scenes area looks like. I’ve never worked in fast food, so I don’t know what it is in reality. 
Here, we see lots of stains. That’s gross. It looks pretty bland in color. Except for the ‘Drink-Drink’ machine…. 

Orders range from 1 item to 4 items. 

This surfer-looking guy must be hungry. A burger with 4 patties; a cheeseburger with lettuce/tomato and fries; and a pancake sandwich with bacon and a burger patty.

The only realistic sandwich here, I would argue, is the normal old cheeseburger with fries.

Also, I say this guy is ‘surfer-looking’ because he’s got blonde hair, a glazed over look in his eye, and appears to be wearing a Hawaiian shirt. Talk about stereotyping. 

Drinks at the Drink-Drink machine!

Drink-Drink, Dr Purple, and C-Thru. My astute powers of observation and pop-culture knowledge here, lead me to believe these are Coca-Cola, Dr. Pepper, and 7-Up.

Very interesting though, as Dr. Pepper is almost always served with Pepsi products. And 7-Up, as far as I know, is independent of either. Though I feel like that’s also with Pepsi, most often. However, as I was obviously able to recognize these, I think the game makers have got their point across. 

Let us leaf lettuce. 
My best guess here is romaine. Which I have NEVER had on a burger at a fast food joint. It’s usually ice-berg, or probably ice-berg that has already been shredded, and more than likely comes in a bag.

So what are they saying here, with this beautifully green, fresh-looking, good-for-you, leafy romaine lettuce? There’s no way this would be the reality. Is this merely an aesthetic choice, or are they trying to trick people? 


Tomato time!
Gorgeous, bright red hot house tomatoes. At least, I think those are hot house tomatoes. I’m still a little fuzzy on my tomato types. I would call it your standard tomato. (Though, I usually buy roma/plum, as I think they are small and cute, but that’s another story for another day.)

I think it is weird you have to slice the whole tomato when it’s going on a burger, and you will only use like 2 or so slices. Totally not reality. Weird, right? That’s just wasteful.

Let’s get fried. 
French fries. Not a whole lot to say here. Compared to the next level, the diner, it is interesting that here in fast food land, you get 2 deep fryers. In the diner, you only get 1.

More than fries are fried here. You also get fish with faces, breaded and deep fried, and slammed on a sandwich with lettuce and tomato. You also get chicken drumsticks, breaded and fried, slammed on a sandwich with lettuce and tomato.

It’s weird. What about the bones?! Who is going to eat a sandwich with bones in it. That just doesn’t make any sense… Though perhaps, I am merely being too literal here.

Also to note, as you see the yellow ‘Good!’ and the blue ‘OK!’, these are markers of how ‘well’ you have cooked the food. It needs to be in the green to get a ‘Perfect!’ which will give you the most silver coins (being paid to you by the customers). If you screw up, you can dump the food in the trash can and start over. If, and when, you are done, be it perfect or not, you hit the plate and it magically disappears.

Meat madnessssss! 
Over here on the grill. Stove? Flat top? What are these things called… Griddle? Oh I don’t know, and I even worked in a cafe for some time. We had one of these. He called it something, and I can’t remember anymore. They have these at TU, too. In the 7720 cafe. This game makes me think of the dining halls at TU, because of these cooking surfaces…

Meat has to be cooked on one side, then flipped and cooked on the other. Actually, not just meat. Pancakes, eggs, and I feel like maybe something else might go here, too. 

Facewich Combo, in your face! 
Once everything is gone, you get a nice little pop up meal, and you have to tap the bell in the corner, and the order sits on the window sill, and the customer grabs it and drives off.

Also to note, food has a temperature gauge. When you finish one order, it gets that little thermometer looking thing. When there are multiple items in an order, you need to try and complete them all at the same time. Otherwise, one part might get cold, and the customer pays less.

All in all, not a very good elicitation. Let’s just say I’m out of practice. Also, the intriguing thing I want to make note of here, are the stereotypes. We don’t really see these appearing, at least with the people, until you reach the diner level at ‘The Gravy Chug.’

Also to note, I enjoy that the Burger Face burger logo looks like a hamburger with a mustache. And so, they should serve Boh.

But wait! See what I just did there? I related this completely stupid, useless, and sometimes very irritating game back to… my own culture. I got a little reflexive there, didn’t I?

Food items with mustaches make me think of Baltimore.

That’s just the way it is.